Thursday, January 31, 2008
Wednesday, January 30, 2008
Chillin' like an illin' villian.
On the upside, if this IS related to my anxiety, I have another appointment on Friday, then another on Tuesday and another next Friday (and the same the week after that). I'm not supposed to pathologize myself so much, but it's hard when you spend a couple days a week reviewing why you're weak.
I actually went through and updated my resume and cover letter today. For the first time, the thought of looking for a job didn't scare me to shit, so I figured I'd take advantage of this apparent burst of inner strength. On I go. Onward and upward.
Who wants to gamble on me? :-) I know there's someone out there who believes in people like I do.
...Now I just have to find where their office is. ;-)
Tuesday, January 29, 2008
Last few minutes
1) Craig & I are solid no matter what. I can put my heart in that. He's even agreed to join me in therapy.
2) The fact I hurt may be my mother's fault, the fact I'm out of control is mine.
3) I cannot let being "broken" define who I am exclusively. We all come with baggage, mine's just a little heavier. That's okay. It doesn't make me who I am, just dresses me up a little.
Now, I'm going to try to sleep despite the fact my tummy is in knots. Stupid aunt flow. :-P
Monday, January 28, 2008
Another day dawns...
I don't know what to do anymore, like life is slipping by and I'm grasping at the few remaining fibres, trying to hold them together with all the strength in my hands.
If Craig turned his back, I'd have nearly no one. No one who's trust I've earned and can rely on. I'd have to go back to my beloved smother... I mean mother! The thought that she would have me back in her life based on my inability to care for myself... it reinforces everything I think she wants out of me. I don't want to let her have it.
She responded to my email again but I haven't and won't read it. I don't really care what she thinks. Craig read it and responded... I wonder what was said but at the same time feel better just putting it out of my head. He's trying to protect me - just like she did.
I feel bad for hurting her... and yet, there's nothing good in that. I hate/am angry at her for what she did over the years no good in that either. Even in all my sadness that supposedly comes from her - I manage to have my brain spin it so it's all my fault. I don't think she understands that. And there's definitely no good to come from that.
I love the times... well, that's the sad part... there aren't many times I remember having fun and not feeling like I had to be "on". Buying clothes together, going for lunch... really it was always shopping related. We actually didn't share much of a sense of humour.... I don't remember laughing anymore. I know there must have been times... but the only time I remember was when we were outside telling stories about Dad right after he passed, watching the sunset. I remember crying at the same time though, so I'm not sure that counts.
The best thing I have in my life, I'm afraid of losing. But then again, people have a history of turning their back on me, and I tend to prepare for the worst.
As for now, I need to join my love in bed. It's late, and since we haven't killed each other yet, we may as well enjoy sleeping next to each other until the next lover's quarrel.
Sunday, January 27, 2008
Post Script...
The family was there to embarass Drew with flags and signs after his Team Canada debut where he was credited with the only shut-out during the tournament! He certainly proved himself to a lot of people on this trip. And he's made a lot of people proud (especially his little brother)!
Of course, there were other team members there, including Goalie Paul Rosen who credited Drew with "trying to take [his] place", but went on to say that's a good thing... and there were other words of encouragement, but I won't start a gossip mill just yet.
We'll have to see if they continue to watch Drew as a major contender for the 2010 paralympics... I'm just throwing it out there... From http://www.hockeycanada.ca/ "...the Canadians, who got a 14-save-shutout performance from goaltender Drew Rigden (Kincardine, ON) in his first-ever appearance for the national team. ... Rigden made the most of his first start for Canada, making six saves in each of the first and third periods on the way to the shutout, quieting the pro-Japanese crowd of 250 at Taisetsu Arena."
Saturday, January 26, 2008
Post Script...
Friday, January 25, 2008
Tonight, I blew my lid...
I hope all is well with you and Craig. I think about you a lot and just wanted to check in.
...act like everything is fine... like I want to speak with you.
...have you cancelled the wedding yet or are you still sitting on it so I can talk to Reg at Delta again? :-(
I'm glad life is the "same ole" for you ...do you EVER feel emotional pain?
I spend everyday in torture - screaming at walls, crying, throwing things.
...you don't seem to get that. You've got me to the point I'm "disabled" according to my docs. I have no money come March first, but my doctor says I can't look for work because I'm too unstable. DO YOU KNOW WHAT IT FEELS LIKE TO HEAR THAT?!
Craig yells at me everyday recently (over things that are usually money related) and I can't even blame him. I know what it's like to be with someone like me.
I hate myself. Whatever you thought you taught me about how to love myself, you did a shitty job.
I hope your therapy is going well.
Mine is shite. Not ever enough time for what I need to say.
One day, I'll stop being angry at you. I hope. But right now, I have nothing positive to say to you.
PS - I'll be mailing that necklace back to you, I really don't want something like that from my "Mom". That was the sickest thing to give and the worst message to send - if it WAS unintentional (and I DON'T believe it was), then it was just REALLY fucking stupid. It felt like the WORST head game yet.
PPS - My number has changed. I'll give you the new one when I can say your name without heart palpitations.
Me? Social?
Entirely unnecessary, especially when the person coming is a friend, yet still, there it is...
...memories of my mother yelling at my father cause Grandma was coming in an hour while blasting the stereo while she vacuumed and he quietly tried to watch the History Channel.
...memories of being at my first apartment and throwing a xmas party, I cleaned immaculately, made sure everyone got a gift, provided drinks and food for my guests, their guests and had enough left over for the following week.
...memories of getting ready for a girls night out where my closest friends pointed out how organized and overly-prepared I was.
So perhaps instead, later, I'll just take a sedative and enjoy the company. :-)
Thursday, January 24, 2008
GO FOR GOLD, TEAM CANADA!!!
Drew Rigden's (#30) new "support our troops/always remember" helmet.
One side (above), depicts flanders field cross and poppy with rifle, while the other (below) shows the statue at Vimy Ridge.
GO TEAM CANADA!!!
WE'RE CHEERING FOR YOU A WORLD AWAY!
Wednesday, January 23, 2008
A letter to my biological sister...

Meg and Beth, December 2008
Some Notes On Heath Ledger's Death
"Multiple sources in the NYPD tell TMZ, although it's too early to know, it's looking like Heath Ledger's death was accidental and not suicide.
There have been numerous reports suggesting that Ledger took his own life by ingesting a boatload of pills. Contrary to initial reports, the pills that were "scattered" around Ledger's apartment were actually in containers. We're told the containers were not littering the apartment. Rather, some were in the medicine cabinet and some in other rooms. As we reported, one container was on Ledger's nightstand. Cops found sleeping pills and an anti-anxiety drug in the bedroom.
A rep for the family tells TMZ that detectives have been in touch with Ledger's next of kin and the cops told them that so far there is no evidence suggesting suicide. Of course, until the toxicology reports come in, no one knows for sure.
A well-connected source in the NYPD told us this morning the "operating theory" right now within the department is that it was an accidental death, not suicide.
It's unclear if Ledger's health was a factor. As we first reported, he had pneumonia at the time of his death."
From CP24's live Television Coverage - 9:35am
Tracy Moore on CP24 reported this morning that since Heath's portrail of the disturbed and insane Joker for the upcoming Batman movie, "The Dark Knight", he had problems sleeping and had begun taking sleeping pills.
My Take:
The fact that both sleeping pills and anti-anxiety medication we're found IN CONTAINERS, suggests that the overdose was accidental, not intentional. Many anti-anxiety medications (like the ones I take) are sedatives and not to be used with sleeping pills. The autopsy will tell the whole story. It is scheduled for sometime today.
NOTE: The autopsy performed in NY earlier today yeilded inconclusive evidence and further results will be filed after 10 days once toxicology can confirm what was present in his system. An update from TMZ.com reported, "TMZ has confirmed two of the medications found at Heath Ledger's apartment were Xanax and Valium, both anti-anxiety drugs. Cops also found Ambien, along with several medications prescribed in Europe." This is starting to sound a little "Anna Nicole" for my liking. Why do you have SO many prescription meds laying around your place at the age of 28?
Tuesday, January 22, 2008
R.I.P. Heath Ledger

"GiveMeaning.Com" or, "Why I hate the "Sun" newspapers"
Was it the "sunshine girl" on page three (now the last page)? No.
Was it the inaccurate forecasts? No.
Was it the insane amount of advertising? No.
Was it the lack of content? A little... but mostly, no.
The real reason? My school DID NOT ALLOW us to us ANY Sun paper. The articles were written at "below average" reading comprehension, mostly based on opinion and not fact, thus it was inappropriate for use at grade 13 (OAC to Ontarians) level. There's a reason the format of the paper is a "tabloid" format, not like the other national papers.
"But, why do I care about your teenage news experience?" You ask.
Well, over the weekend a "gentleman" named Tom Newman I assume is a columnist and not free-lance for the Vancouver Sun (same beast, different head), armed with only 2 years of financial statements from the Canadian Revenue Agency, wrote an article and POSTED IT ON MY BLOG AS A COMMENT (rude, I am not here to give "journalists" a forum; this is MY forum). He stated a large laundry list of numbers, trying to explain that he feels Tom Williams CEO, a kid at 25 who gave up everything (including consulting with F500 companies), is a thief using charity as a 'guise.
He also commented "Con men con and life goes on. Still, people using charity as a cover to line their own pockets is not admirable." I'd like to know WHAT CREDENTIALS does Tom Newman have? Is he an accountant? Did he consult one in the writing of his article? Did he meet with or speak to any other internet charity sites like charityvillage.com?
CRA documents for 2 years (particularly when dealing with an internet start-up) do not a criminal make. It's people like Tom Williams that I make a habit to defend. People like Tre Smith, Toronto Humane Society's cruelty investigator. I stand up for people who are TRYING to HELP the world, yet seem to only get short shrift.
Besides, if I'm not mistaken, Tom Williams be MUCH better off at one of his Fortune 500 clients where he earned WAY more money doing consulting. About a quarter-mil American per annum, if I remember correctly. That seems like way easier money - and he didn't have to deal with stories like this.
This new line of work doesn't seem like a greedy personae to me. He got out of the rat race to make a difference.
It's a brilliant article, too (but I'm not encouraging any of you to read it). I can see why Tom Newman writes for the SUN. But then again that's just MY opinion.
PS - That's it for today. You'll have to wait for my adventures of the subconscious until tomorrow. Sorry! :-P
Monday, January 21, 2008
The one notable thing at the R.O.M.
The Queensland BLACK Star Sapphire is also called a "destiny stone", with the three main points on the star representing hope, faith and destiny. Star sapphires were also believed to help ward off ill omens and the Evil Eye. On display for the first time since 1969, until... (it SAID December 2007, we saw it on January 20, 2008)?FROM: http://www.rom.on.ca/news/releases/public.php?mediakey=2k9td2lwct
"The dazzling sapphire was discovered by a young boy named Roy Spencer in the 1930s on the surface of the Reward Claim; he ran back to show his father Mr. Harry Spencer (one of the earliest miners in the Central Queensland Gemfields) who remarked, “Oh yes, a large black crystal” and threw it down by the back door. Some accounts claim the stone was used as a doorstop for many years. Neither realized the value of the sapphire until it was sold uncut in 1947 to jeweller Harry Kazanjian. It was later cut and polished, revealing a brilliant six-point star sapphire weighing 733 carats. In 2002, the gem was purchased by the present owners."
The other thing I noticed at the Museum was S P A C E . . . lots and lots of space. Which is odd as most of the exhibits that I enjoy seem to remain untouched. It seemed like there was nothing new besides the blight that is the Michael Lee Chin Crystal.
Even the crystal itself is poorly constructed; sharp edges running up stair wells, screws obviously sticking out, bad drywalling - it looks like a bunch of guys got drunk and said, "hey, how can we deface one of the grandest buildings in Toronto? Oh, I dunno, lets drywall the whole thing and use the old grand lobby as a sitting area! It's brilliant!!!"
Although, it WAS designed on a cocktail napkin. Any building imagined over drink-ee-poos should probably warrant another look. No, they go ahead, build it and print the sketch on limestone tiles and coasters. But maybe that's just my opinion. I mean, does this look like a seating area to you (see below)?


My point is, I became nostalgic for the building I once spent every weekend in and I suppose what they're trying to do is complete a renovation that will bring it through the future. It just didn't hit it with me. At least they've still got the mummies and dinosaurs we all love! :-)

And so now, tired and sore (Craig has started me training with a bokken - see below), I bid you adeiu and good night. Tomorrow I have ANOTHER therapy session where my unwillingness to take meds will be argued and I can learn more about how it's okay that I'm screwed up in the head because of my mother. Also, I have to focus on me... nothing helps you focus your aggression like swinging around a giant wooden sword!

Hi-ya!!!
Sunday, January 20, 2008
Goin' to the R.O.M.
Saturday, January 19, 2008
Taking a nap at 10pm - Most Haunted
However before we could relax, we spent a few hours pouring over hundreds of statements and pieces of paper that will likely lead to Craig's Student loan being written off. Three different agencies are trying to collect the same debt from him and thus, violating the responsibilities in their licence.
There was actually a laundry list of things they have done that are less than transparent business practices. I'll spare you the minutia. Time will tell on this one. The Ombudsman and Registrar are going to have to sort it out. Goodness knows that may take a awhile.
We ran some errands, played some Scrabble (aw, how domestic!), had steak and fried for dinner and a beer to finish things off. Not too bad if you ask me.
Now, I'm going to lie down in the hopes I can wake up in a couple of hours to watch "Most Haunted" on 'W' (Fridays at 10pm, Saturdays at midnight, cable channel 27 in Toronto, ON). They've caught ghosts on thermal imaging, have had wet footprints materialize out of nowhere and have objects thrown at them; objects relevant to people attached to building in the past (coins, rings, etc.). If you have a love of the paranormal, you should look this show up. It kicks unadulterated ass. Yvette Fielding (the host) and medium David Wells are our favourites. They get each other so excited/scared/hysterical that it's entertaining, even on less-productive estates.
SIDE NOTE: Dinner is always better when Craig cooks! :-P Although my pulled pork is on the menu in the next couple days... that always works out pretty well. *drools*
Friday, January 18, 2008
Did anyone get the license plate of that truck?
Hey, one thing I've been promising is to be extremely open!
I was asked today, if I had my mother in a room and I could say ANYTHING I wanted, and she could NEVER repeat it to anyone, what would I say?
I thought a long time, started crying and said, "I'd probably rip this damn scissor-symbolism necklace off, throw it in her face and walk out. I'm too angry to say anything productive.
For the record, I was told NOT to do this in real life as that's kinda rude. However I was also told it's okay to angry at her. She's been a controlling, manipulative, passive-aggressive Mom. That doesn't mean she MEANT to do it. It just kinda happened, and like I said, with the family history, it was likely only a matter of time.
It's so funny that after being SO upset by how Craig's family acted during Christmas in 2006, I've come to see them as a highly functioning, open bunch. They just scream, take a nap and apologize later. I didn't get it at first, but after this year - I GET IT! No talking behind people's backs and little vendettas and competition over how big the gifts are for the kids...
Example: Oh, well, if Kathy gives each of our kids $40 each, then we should give Megan something that adds to the same amount - DID ANYONE ACTUALLY SAY THIS, OR WAS THIS JUST MADE UP BY MY MOM?
Christmas this year was so tame. Granted everyone was hungover and I was REALLY not in the Christmas spirit (and heavily sedated), but it was so organic it was hard not to have a great time. Plus I love all the siblings around. Crazy.
Anyway, the bottom line is, I believe my mother to be a passive-aggressive person hell-bent on keeping me closer than is possible. She used my disorder as an excuse to put all the weight on me rather than just saying, "I don't think you're ready to get married".
Are you mortified [for her] yet? You damn well should be.
I'm mailing her the necklace back. Whether or not it was from the One of a Kind 2006 or 2007 is irrelevant. It was a stupid and inexcusable gift given the circumstances.
So, that's it for now - the intensive twice per week sessions start next week. Soon I'll be dying to work just so I don't have to go to therapy!
Also, I'm not supposed to analyze Mom and her actions and how they relate to me anymore. Observe, take notes, but don't analyze. :-/ ...Dr. Madigan thinks I can't do that yet. I'll try though.
Thursday, January 17, 2008
I'm baaaaack!
...and the gawd dang fire alarms are still going off!!! As soon as they started up today it felt like they'd been on all night. Insta-headache! It's that wonderful time of the new year where fire inspection agencies make a bunch of money checking that smoke alarms and fire alarms are working. At least I won't get burned to a crisp!
...it should be noted I'm on the second floor and live next to the access stairwell. :-P
Another day, though as today draws to a close, I wonder what emotional heartbreak awaits me at my visit with Dr. Madigan tomorrow. Those are always fun visits. Yippee.
If you don't know me, that was sarcasm. I'm not looking forward to it. Even though I'll likely feel better a few days later once everything is thought out.
...ugh, I said I was "committed" to therapy. Guess it's the same as being committed to Craig. Ups, downs, crying, compromise and relief. Seems about right. :-)
As for today... I feel like taking a nap... but instead, I'm going to run errands and catch some 6 o'clock news.
Wednesday, January 16, 2008
The Story of an Openly Broken Girl
By breaking away from the family (as hard as it has been), I've been able to be me. Perhaps that's part of my problem. I was raised to be SO conscious of what others thought of me, my endevours, my shape, my etiquette... coupled with my genetic propensity for anxiety (still got my verbosity), it was likely only a matter of time before there was a meltdown.
The problem lays with mostly with me and I'm very aware of that. However, there is a ribbon of denial, gossip and resentment that runs through so many in my family (and even some of my friends), that I simply can't deal with after all of this.
Meds screwing with my brain chemistry, money woes because I'm not allowed to work, emotional stress from "dealing" with these issues, it all adds up and the one person I would normally trust, I've come to see as my abuser. I find myself crying and wishing that Dad was here. Even typing this, my hands have started to shake.
No "gets it", except maybe my youngest cousin Kimmy and she's just coming to a stage (13, I think) where she needs stable people around her. Not to mention the family has made it clear where they stand.
Things like this are private. Family matters shouldn't be publicized, lest someone actually see me for who I am.
You're depressed?
Try smiling!
You're anxious?
Try drugs!
You're broke?
Beg to the family coffers!
*smacks head*
I give up guys. I do. I'm sorry for the hurt she must feel. I am, it kills me - but this is about preservation of self. I need to watch out for that more than anything right now. Lest I down my pills and take an extended nap.
Love to those who love.
Tuesday, January 15, 2008
And so it goes...
*NOTE: Conall just ripped a stuffed toy to shreds under my feet - I must pay more attention to the little guy. He's like a toddler who just gets into trouble for the fun of it.*
Yesterday I finally managed to get my to do list accomplished. All, save the photos which I finished off this morning. All are named and cropped and blurred in the appropriate places. ...I'm kidding, by the way, folks. Just my way of attempting cuteness.
At any rate, the snow is starting to come down again, so Conall will be eager to get into it. There are a few projects around the house I'd like to hop on as well. And I should get to the gym.... it's just that since New Years, the place is never empty when I go. I can't wait until every one's enthusiasm dies down and I can go by myself.
Recently, my writing has been more of a cheating; listing my daily routine without much poetic forethought. I'm going to make a conscious effort to put myself into the grey a little more. We'll get away from "My So-Called Life" and get more towards some real insight. Sounds good, no?
Monday, January 14, 2008
Is it really only 3pm?
- took the pup to High Park, where despite his size, was beaten up.
- bathed the dog (white dog and mud, you do the math)
- got groceries
- got dog treats and training toys
- got the old photos digitized and OFF my wall.
Today I:
- woke with Craig (no sleeping in)
- made the bed
- walked the dog
- did the laundry (including hauling 3 loads up and down stairs)
- cleaned the kitchen and living room
- folded and hung clean laundry
- vacuumed
- dusted
- walked the dog again
- read a bit of Stephen T. Colbert's "I AM AMERICA (and so can you!)", it's actually very funny! SURPRISE!
I have yet to:
- clean the bathroom
- walk to the mall
- run errands
- make a REAL dinner (a personal favourite, taco bake; perhaps I'll share the recipe later tonight)
- clean-up the digitized photos
Let me tell you how I'm feeling... actually, you take a guess! I've got too much to do!
...Good thing I'm cutting back on those sedatives, today those would spell the end of my efficacy!
Sunday, January 13, 2008
I didn't do it!
Yesterday's To Do List:
-grocery shopping, didn't do it
-house cleaning, didn't do it
-laundry, didn't do it
-puppy play at dog park (2 hours of outside time), got one hour, anyway
-puppy bath, didn't do it
-photo rescues (digitizing old ones), didn't do it
-new framing for said photos, didn't do it
-perhaps some writing titled, "You never knew me better than I knew myself", didn't do it
We spent the day relaxing and enjoying the day. It was nice! Now today will be crazy, instead.
Also, my knee is no longer paining me, but it's definitely weaker that it was before the dislocation. The gym is going to come in very handy for my self-physiotherapy. :-)
Now sleep... lots to do in a few hours.
Saturday, January 12, 2008
Things To Do Today
-grocery shopping
-house cleaning
-laundry
-puppy play at dog park (2 hours of outside time)
-puppy bath
-photo rescues (digitizing old ones)
-new framing for said photos
-perhaps some writing titled, "You never knew me better than I knew myself".
Add to all this my knee is still buggered up, so I have to be very careful about how I move. It's one of those things that happens the second you let your guard down and you're not ready for it. Luckily Craig has a great sport brace that fits me, so when I'm out walking I can feel a bit more confident and not limp so much.
Part of getting better is using it normally... hey, there's some wisdom.
Anyway, this Broken Girl has to get away from the computer screen and onto the chores. We'll see what actually gets accomplished. ;-)
Friday, January 11, 2008
Beaten up feelin'.
Ryan Malcolm of Canadian Idol fame sent out a reminder about his new group's show in Toronto at Diesel later this month. Craig and I will be second row centre for Low Level Flight... Edwin is playing too so it should be a good show... and not too bad for $15 bucks plus a $2 internet fee ($34 for both of us). I also have a small crush on Ryan Malcolm (and his voice) so being able to see him live will be awesome.
*daydreams*
I wanna sing Say on stage with him...and email the video to my Mom.
Craig and I are just really happy to be able to have something fun to do. Moping around only gets you so far.
...Ouch, I hope the dog can wait to get walked til Craig gets home. He's just too much strain on my knee.
Now... off to daydream some more...
Thursday, January 10, 2008
Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha... Wipe Out!
Aries, Pablo, Tank and Conall (Aries had nothing to do with it!!!) :-)
I responded to an email from the wedding planner today. Turns out he hadn't heard anything from Mom and she never contacted him about cancelling. I'm just so over it now. It's just nuts this is still going on.And, speaking of nuts... (nice transition, no?) ...my meeting with Dr. Madigan was less than encouraging. She wants to see me twice a week (despite the fact, she'd told me her practice was full), and doesn't think I'm capable of returning to work. For the the next month, perhaps longer; even though working is "integral to my recovery". She wants to change my meds and therapy intensity, which tells me I'm worse off than Dr. Philp (my fantastic G.P.), thought I was. Clinically speaking, I'm disabled.
...and the knee, now, too! This is karmic retribution for something!
So I'll be taking some new regimen of brain-hormone changing drugs and hope that the advice she lends me helps. As she has said, a big part of this is "letting myself, hear myself talk". I used to run my mouth all the time... it'll be interesting to get back at that.
Wednesday, January 9, 2008
Some thoughts for those who greive...
I am not there, I do not sleep.
I am a thousand winds that blow
I am the diamond glints on snow
I am the sunlight on ripened grainI
am the gentle autumn rain
When you awaken in the mornings hush
I am the swift uplifting rush
of quiet birds in circled flight
I am the soft stars that shine at night
Do not stand at my grave and cry
I am not there, I did not die.
-Unknown
Tuesday, January 8, 2008
Opportunities Abound
I just got a call from GiveMeaning's CEO's Assistant. They're a non-profit organization that helps OTHER small charities have web-presence and gain more funding. The CEO himself is an inspiration to me - he had been a 9th grade drop-out, computer programming whiz, who went from writing code for Apple Inc., to consulting for Fortune 500 companies, to leaving it all behind to make a difference with www.givemeaning.com
I wrote him an email - just to tell him what a phenominal idea it was, how much I respected his integrity and that if they ever wanted any help from Toronto, I'd be happy to get involved. Then, I got a phone call. :-) We shall see!
I also have plans to meet with a recruiter later this week and hopefully that will pan out with something. The woman I have been dealing with was really sweet so I think things should be promising.
There are also a few other placements I've put in for with the Ministry of Justice & Corrections, if one of those were to come through it would be just fantastic. Particularly the one with the Coroner's Office, that one could definitelly be fufilling.
Anyway, that's about all for now... Mom saw my footage on the news, that was kinda cool.
Monday, January 7, 2008
Unremarkable...
I just want the sun to come out. All this wet weather makes my dog smell funny and look like a stray. He takes more baths than I do now... and I don't get massaged with suds by two people in mine!
That fire the other day was crazy... some of the footage Craig shot actually made the 6 o'clock news, which was pretty cool (thanks CityTV/CP24 Toronto). We just saw dozens of trucks and went to investigate. Once we saw what was unfolding, we ended up staying until most of it had been contained. Our toes and fingers were numb and we were wet (from the hoses and the rain), but as I said to Craig, "it's like staying to watch the slaying of a beast - you can't leave half-way through. And of, course there were all the residents that were crying and distraught, T-PASS alarms going off every two minutes... Not a scene that's easy to walk away from. But we did when actual frostbite began to nip at my fingers.
Conall has been most aggravated by the shorter walks that come with rain and as a result is taking his pent up aggression on the cats. Poor Craig disciplined him last night (after he'd attacked Tweek) by putting him on his side (something we haven't had to do in months) and the poor thing peed himself. We cleaned him up and made no big deal out of it... of course he's acting rather sheepish today, but no less bold with the cats. *nip, nip*
I think deep down, I am more upset about it than Conall was.
Anyway, time to plan dinner for the working man.
Sunday, January 6, 2008
Fack, Feck, Fick, Fock... No Matter How You Say It
Nowhere to go,
Taking like teens
and left feeling low.
I make him a "Monster"
but I'm just trying to explain
those words that he uses,
sometimes can pain.
He just doesn't get it,
or maybe he's tired.
I just hate waking up
with my feet on the fire.
I'll try to make good,
I'll try to play fair,
but I'm still just a crazy,
life's weight I can't bear.
Running in circles,
stuck nowhere again.
Stumbling on words,
and hoping this mends...
UPDATE: S'all good. :)
Saturday, January 5, 2008
Don't look now, it's a four-alarm blaze!
It was truly an amazing site to see 6 homes gobbled up in less than an hour. The whole thing has actually left me speechless, and while I'm sure there's more to be talked about (like poor, Stefanie Regel -> see http://ca.youtube.com/watch?v=qxOKytvZAVw), I'm just too tired and awed right now.
Also, The World Juniors (Hockey Tourney) are on and we're tied with Sweeden (2-2) and I want to catch the overtime!!! As a canadian girl, I gotta watch!!!
UPDATE: We won witha johnny-on-the-spot goal on OT!!!
Friday, January 4, 2008
An Open Letter to Britney Spears...
You look about as nuts as I feel 80% of the time.
Your money can't hide your imperfections or emotions, neither will systematically eliminating all of those close to you who are telling you the truth. Perhaps you have lost all trust after the K-Fed thing, or maybe you just grew up in a nutty environment. So did I, but I've fought to keep myself on an even keele, if not for me, then for those I love.
Forget about the fans and the "yes men" who agree with everything you say.
Take some time and look at who you are on the inside. Honour whatever your feelings are. Be they over motherhood, your relationships, your legal battles, your family, etc. - and then TAKE RESPONSIBILITY for them. The first step is to LET yourself feel again - don't function on auto-pilot, it will only eat you up in the end. Take those feelings and let them out... and when you're ready to, step up and take care of your kids - in the meantime, keep them at a distance - no kid wants to see mommy on a gourney.
Think about it, kiddo. You're my age, within a month... had I been brought up as you were, I'd probably be making the headlines for you! I'm not condemning any actions - I'm asking for you to recognize the imbalance within yourself - and to stop pushing those away who keep trying to help (your lawyers and paramedics for two examples).
And if you ever wanted someone to REALLY give it to you straight (not to be mean, just so you hear the truth), then you email me or any other "non-fan" that actually feels ill when they see pics like these across the TV.
You were on top of the world... maybe based on a career of less substance... but you owned it for a while, girl. Now, you're turning into Norma Desmond, living in Malibu, waiting for your close-up... well, here it is sweetie.
Fact of the matter is, in another life that could've been me laughing at my medic attendants.
Pictures courtesty of JFXOnline and TMZ.comThursday, January 3, 2008
R.I.P. Molly
She was an integral part in my coming to love dogs. Large dogs had been a source of fear for me, but meeting "baby" I just couldn't remain afraid!
While the early reports sounded like she was as good as gone, when we spoke to Drew around 9:30pm, the vet had said she was doing better and provided she made it through the night her odds were very good. Craig seemed to have a sense of optimism, I didn't share; but of course, I was grateful she was still here. That was good enough.
Sadly, Molly didn't make it through the night and is being cremated to be burried in the ground she loved to run through.
Craig and I will be going up in the spring for that occassion, but in the meantime, it's just more sadness.
Wednesday, January 2, 2008
The Reason

One thing makes me smile,
I have you now forever,
not "a bit", or "a while".
I'll never have men pain me,
I won't have lonely nights,
Can't fathom tears from lovers,
I finally got it right.
Even when we fight,
He's still all I'll ever need.
Even his worst barbs
Could never make me flee.
He's the reason: love, trust, hope...
From now until the end
He's the reason -
I'll never be heartbroken again.
Tuesday, January 1, 2008
HAPPY NEW YEAR!
I'm a lush again! OY!





